280 first timer MPs, one Virendra Khatik of BJP wins 8th consecutive time

From the Net

Many a twists and records have become part of the 18th Lok Sabha. A confident ‘Modi Sarkar’ not able to cross the majority mark singlehandedly, as earlier done and expected this time, this Lok Sabha has facts that would interest one and all.

Settling for a coalition, overcoming the ‘Abki Baar 400-Paar’ euphoria, Modi’s strike rate has dipped vis-à-vis that of his arch rival Rahul Gandhi, often sarcastically called as ‘Pappu’. Reports revealed Modi’s strike rate declined from 83% to 54% while that of Gandhi scion, the same upped to 47%.

Modi’s strike rate dips, Rahul records rise in success rate

NDA’s strong face Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed public meetings in over 145 constituencies, wherein victory was achieved in 85 constituencies, making the strike rate come to 55%.

As for Rahul Gandhi, from a dismal performance in 17th Lok Sabha, post which he had resigned from party presidentship, winning around 50% of all the parliamentary constituencies he had addressed public meetings in, was encouraging. Out of 66 parliamentary constituencies spread across 18 states and union territories, where Rahul Gandhi addressed public meetings, INDIA bloc recorded win on 32 seats taking the strike rate to 48 percent.

Modi’s win margin dips, Rahul’s margin records rise in both seats

Moreover, the Gandhi scion, after being written off by opposition, post 2019 poll debacle, rebounded back with considerable steam. Rahul Gandhi won both the seats, Rae Barelli and Wayanad, with a margin of over 3 lakh votes each, while Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had won with over 4 lakh votes from Varanasi in 2017th Lok Sabha, managed winning margin of around 1.5 lakh votes this time.

Also of the 543 MPs, 536 came from 40 different political parties, while seven MPs elected are independents. Reports revealed, top 10 parties have a significant chunk of 479 MPs.

280 MPs on maiden trip to parliament

Of the elected, 280 are on their maiden trip to the temple of democracy while 116 have been elected for the second time. Similarly, records revealed, 74 MPS have been elected for the third time, 35 for the fourth time, 19 for the fifth time, 10 for the sixth time, 7 MPs for the seventh time while one MP has been elected for the eighth time.

16 MPs already been Rajya Sabha members, 40 % MPs re-elected

Of the newly elected Lok Sabha members, 16 MPs have already been members of the Upper House of Parliament, i.e. Rajya Sabha, while 262 have been a part of the Lok Sabha earlier as well. This makes it, 40 percent of MPs have been re-elected. In 2019, candidates of 36 political parties reached the Lok Sabha by winning the elections in the 17th Lok Sabha.

Further, 64 percent (346) seats have been won by candidates of national level parties, while 33 percent (179) have been won by candidates of state level parties. Only 11 seats have been won by candidates of unrecognized parties.

One MP wins from two seats, 9 turncoats reach parliament

Among the newly elected MPs, there is only one MP who has won two seats. Eight MPs have won from another parliamentary constituency. Also nine turncoats in fray reach parliament, while eight became MPs from new party by dissolving their party. Seen through government’s lens, 53 ministers of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contested the elections, of which 35 have won while remaining 18 have lost.

Virendra Khatik reaches Parliament eight consecutive time in 2024

The most experienced member of all the MPs elected in 18th Lok Sabha is BJP MP from Tikamgarh in Madhya Pradesh Virendra Kumar Khatik. He is the only MP in 18th Lok Sabha to have won for the eighth consecutive time. Records revealed, earlier in Madhya Pradesh, Sumitra Mahajan had won eight times from Indore. However, the record of being elected to the Lok Sabha the most number of times from the state is held by Congress veteran Kamal Nath. He was elected nine times.

Seven parties have 10 or more MPs, seven parties have single MP

There are only seven parties in 18th Lok Sabha that have 10 or more MPs. These seven parties have 455 MPs, while the remaining 34 parties have got 81 seats. There are 17 parties, which have only one member each, who have won the elections. Among the top 10 political parties with count of MPs include, BJP (240), Congress (99), Samajwadi Party (37), Trinamool Congress (29), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (22), Telugu Desam Party (16), Janata Dal United (12), Shiv Sena-UBT (9), NCP-SP (8) and Shiv Sena (7). The total count of MPs of these parties is 479 of which 204 are from the INDIA bloc while 275 MPs are of NDA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here