Sonia, Nadda arrive in Rajya Sabha unopposed


For Congress president and six-time Lok Sabha Member of Parliament Sonia Gandhi was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan on Tuesday. Having announced her health and rising age as factors for no more contexting the forthcoming 2024 Lok Sabha polls, the Congress leader started her maiden term in Rajya Sabha on Tuesday after being elected unopposed. Gandhi had filed her nomination papers as Rajya Sabha candidate from Rajasthan on February 15.

Similarly, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) President JP Nadda and three other candidates of the party were declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Gujarat on Tuesday. A total of four Rajya Sabha seats were vacant in Gujarat and all the candidates of the ruling party had been elected unopposed.

Apart from Nadda, the three other candidates elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat include BJP leaders Mayank Nayak and Jaswant Singh Parmar besides diamond trader Govindbhai Dholakia.

Also ruling party’s Madan Rathod and Chunnilal Garasia have also been elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.

As per reports Tuesday was the last day for withdrawal of nominations but since no other candidate was contesting, the nominations were elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed.

Newly elected to Upper House from Madhya Pradesh

One candidate of Congress besides four from BJP have been elected unopposed to the upper house from MP. Congress candidate Ashok Singh was declared elected unopposed on Tuesday besides ruling party’s Umesh Nath Maharaj, L Murugan, Banshilal Gurjar and Maya Narolia were also sent to Rajya Sabha.

BJP has 115 members, Congress 70 in 200-member assembly

It may be mentioned that the tenure of Rajya Sabha members Manmohan Singh (Congress) and Bhupendra Yadav (BJP) was set to end on April 3 while another seat had fallen vacant after BJP MP Kirori Lal Meena resigned from the House in December after being elected MLA. BJP has 115 members and Congress 70 in the 200-member assembly. There are 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan. After the results, Congress has six members and BJP has four members as of now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here